When you play a game online against another player, both parties are using a client. Both client to not directly communicate with each other. Instead, data from a client, such as when moving a piece, is sent to a server.
The server is needed to play multiplayer games. A game server, which the administrator of this website uses, will read an event data a client could send. The processed event data might then be sent to every client, sent to all players in a client area, such as a lobby or game room, or sent back to only a single client. Sometimes the server will just prcess the data, send that data to a MySQL database and send it to a log file.
The server sends the win, loss and draw data for each game that you have played to the MySQL database at server side. You can view the top 10 of many game statistics by clicking the leaderboards link from the menu at the top of this page.Top
A Game client is a network client that connects an individual user to the main game server. The client is used mainly in multiplayer video games. The client is the software you use to play a game. Data is sent to the game server after you press most buttons.
The client will be updated often with new features and/or bug fixes. You only need to download the client once from the website. When you load the client and then use it to connect to the server, the client will check for a newer version of itself and if that newer version is found then a client update will begin. Files will be downloaded from the website and those files will be copied to the client folder. Only one client can be online from the same computer.Top
You are at the lobby after you login. Currently there are 25 rooms. Room zero is for the lobby while the other rooms are used for game play.
A lobby is where players can select a game to play. The state of a room can be the following...
The lobby shows the following for each available room...
Clicking "3: Empty" from the lobby (an empty room number 3) will take you to the "Creating Room 3" scene.
The creating room is where you set room configuration options for a game. Click a game image to select a game to play. The data below the images will change for that game selected.
Press the "Enter Room" button to create the room. You will then enter the waiting room.Top
This is the waiting room where the host of that room waits for players to enter that room. The game can be started once the room meets the requirements.
If pager is enabled at the configuration scene, the host of the room will hear a buzzing sound at intervals letting the host know that a user has entered the room. The sound will stop after any keyboard key is pressed or after the left mouse button is pressed.
The host of the room is always displayed to the far left of the scene. The host is shown in the image above. Every game completed or abandoned will either be a win, loss or draw added to that player's game statistics.
Only the host can see other players' names displayed on buttons. Clicking a button will display options to either kick or ban that user from only that room. Host can ban that user permanently from the room but only for the session of that room. Host can kick a user for 15 minutes. After that time, the user will be able to re-enter that room. The user that is banned or kicked from that room will return to the lobby to receive a generic discipline message.
Only the host can invite users to the waiting room.
In the image above, players are seen at the table after clicking the "Update list" button. Data seen at that table are players from the lobby. The data shown...
Clicking the game room button will send all users, including the host, to the game room.Top
The game room is where waiting room users can play a game. The game room can be entered from the waiting room by the host of the room.
Currently, the game room has the following buttons...
Some games will display the history buttons after a game has ended. You can use the history buttons to review a game that was just played. From left to right, the four buttons are, go back to the beginning of the game, go back one turn, go forward one turn and go to the last move of the game.Top
Daily quests can be accessed from the lobby. Complete any three, six or nine daily quests to receive rewards such as experience point, house coins and credits respectively.Top
If you get bored playing board games then have fun creating an isometric house. House is a side game where you can make isometric rooms by placing floor tiles, wall tiles and furniture anywhere in the house.
Use your house coins that you get after you play a board game to build your isometric house. You are able to place floor, wall, door and window tiles on the map. place furniture items in front or behind a wall, door or window. You are able to send a furniture item in front or behind another furniture item. You are able to scroll the map, hide a furniture item and rotate a furniture item in the direction of SE, SW, NE and NW. You can save the house layout.
Limitations of the house feature are; you are not able to create a 1x1 tile room and you cannot change the order of two furniture items when one item is in front of a wall, door or window and the other is behind that wall, door or window.
Use house coins that you get after a board game is played to purchase furniture. You can only receive a house coin when the house coins event is active. You will be given 1 house coin when you lose a board game and 2 house coins when you win a board game.
Depending on the wall layout, a north/south wall that you place on the map will automatically either be displayed in front of a west/east wall or displayed behind the west/east wall.Top
When closing the client by clicking the "x" at the top-right corner of the client application or by ending the task from the task manager, the server will notice that the player is no longer there and a disconnect event will be triggered for that player. A loss will be recorded for that player if that player was still playing a game and a message of that event will be sent to all other players within that game room.
When playing a game, if a player chooses to end game then a message to the other players will be displayed and those other players will continue playing the game if there are 2 or move players remaining.
A message for those other players will be triggered then...
If a room permits, you can select the "Watch Game" button from the lobby to watch a current game in progress. The move history will be updated for the "spectator watching" after a game player in that game room moves a piece. At that time, the move history will be taken from the server and then used to move each piece very quickly on the game board for the spectator watching until the most current piece in history is reached. The spectator's game board pieces will then be in sync with the current game.
A "spectator watching" feature should not be confused with the "spectator playing" feature. A "spectator watching" can never join that game or take part in another game in that game room, while the "spectator playing" is a player that lost a game in a 3 or 4 player game and can play another game after that game is over for all game players in that game room.Top